Malacca Trip with Fireworks!


Yeah world, I’m back with a new entry! Well, this entry is going to be about stuff that I did, let’s see..5 months ago, back in June; for the sake of writing my life down in words. Life’s been pretty hectic lately, with work and gym mostly. Despite that, I had a little time to slot in some entertaining moments in my dull life.

So 5 months ago, I went to Malacca with a few of my colleagues. My first time in Malacca, after being a Malaysian for 24 years, yeah..keep that thought. 🙂 Anyway, I had a great time. Mostly eating. It was a 2 days 1 night trip, about 2 hours journey from Selangor to Malacca by car. We stayed in Sayang-Sayang2 Hostel which was a very affordable place to stay in.

Sayang-Sayang2 Hostel, Malacca

Sayang-Sayang2 Hostel, Malacca

Without wasting any time, we headed out to Malacca City and had a little adventure. Well firstly, I enjoyed Jonker Street a lot! Cause’ I get to taste some great food. One of it was Taste Better’s Durian Puff. For a Penangite like me, who enjoy squatting down on the floor and eat freshly opened Durian with my hands, Durian Puff definitely didn’t give me a first good impression. I was like “Durian in a puff??? Really??”. Oh I was totally wrong. Taste Better’s Durian Puff, one bite Durian Puff they call it, was delicious! The awesome taste when the fresh Durian fillings popped in my mouth, I was like “I’m definitely going for another one!” Happy to know that they opened now in Queensbay Mall, Penang. I’m getting hungry as I’m posting this! Damn!

Taste Better Durian Puff

Taste Better Durian Puff

Next in line, I managed to try Durian Cendol & Nyonya Asam Laksa. I didn’t queue up for the famous Durian Cendol. I tried them from another shop called Jonker88, which was pretty delicious as well. No idea why Malacca promotes Durian delicacies so much, but it works for me. Klebang’s Original Coconut Shake was also one of the famous delicacies in town. Worth queuing up for definitely. It was totally refreshing after being under the hazy hot weather! We went to Malacca when the city was hit with terrible haze, that we had to wear mask when we were out from the hostel. But that didn’t stop us from taking nice crazy pictures. 🙂

Klebang's Coconut Shake

Klebang’s Coconut Shake

Nyonya Asam Laksa

Nyonya Asam Laksa

Durian Cendol

Durian Cendol

We also went to A’Famosa. Managed to capture a few nice photos there. Didn’t manage to check out Christ Church as it was under renovation.  These are a couple of photos of the city, during the day and the night.

Besides that, we tried the famous Capitol’s Satay Celup, which we actually lined up 2 hours for. Personally, it was not worth lining up for as it wasn’t as great as described for me but I enjoyed my meal with my colleagues definitely.

While lining up for 2 hours to try the Satay Celup...

While lining up for 2 hours to try the Satay Celup…

Capitol's Satay Celup

Capitol’s Satay Celup

Capitol's Satay Celup

Capitol’s Satay Celup

There was also the famous Famosa Chicken Rice Ball, basically rice that are shaped into balls, which was also not as “WOW” as I thought it would be. Didn’t manage to get a picture of that, but they have a nice Peranakan or Nyonya ambience.

Famosa Chicken Rice Ball

Famosa Chicken Rice Ball

Famosa Chicken Rice Ball

Peranakan design in Famosa Chicken Rice Ball

Overall, despite the bad weather & having sucky knowledge of history, I totally had a great time there in Malacca.

Leave a Reply

