KL Bird Park & China Town, Petaling Street.


About a month ago, I went for a little KL tour with my new Portuguese friends that I met from gym, Andre, the ex-Head of Department of Jatomi Fitness & Hugo, the ex-General Manager of Jatomi Fitness. Let’s talk about them a little before going slightly in depth of my second KL adventure. Andre and I started of with small talks in the gym, and he invited me for lunch one day. Hugo tagged along, and from there I got to know him. They are both really nice men, mature. I was closer to Andre than Hugo, as I’ve spoken  to him many times and Hugo is always stuck on his phone! Dude, time to connect with the world! It’s amazing how we can click despite the age gap and I love hanging out with them, especially over lunch & Starbucks. Portuguese, they love coffee a lot and it’s a culture for them to have some coffee after taking their meals. Anyway, we decided to hang out on weekends and went to visit some places in KL. It was more like they brought me around KL instead of vice versa. So much for being a Malaysian! *hide face*

One of the stops was the KL Bird Park, the World’s Largest Free-flight Walk-in Aviary. The birds were flying right one top of me when I first walked in and I had to duck. Yeap, free-flight it was! There were a lot of birds and the huge Pelican was the one that caught our eyes the most.

Excited to be so near to a huge Pelican.

Excited to be so near to a huge Pelican.

The Pelican.

The Pelican.

It was a beautiful park, even though I expected a little more from it. But, I guess we all enjoyed ourselves. Then we went to China Town, Petaling Street. There, I met a sales man who was really rude to me. I was pissed for a few minutes, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying myself, checking out all the stalls. We took some photos at a cosplay shop even though we weren’t supposed to.

Hugo, in need of extra hand!

Hugo, in need of extra hand!

Andre with a hand sticking out from his back pocket.

Andre with a hand sticking out from his back pocket.

Two places were enough to take up my Sunday, with job fair as a head start and dinner at Nando’s and Starbucks for a short chat to wrap up the day. You know, I never realised that Nando’s is a Portuguese restaurant until I heard one of the waitress greeted me with one of the Portuguese words that Andre taught me. Anyway, I had a great time, and after that day, we still had our usual lunches, Starbucks & occasional weekend hangouts. Well, right now, they are both back in Portugal. Every one is back with their own life. Gotta say, I miss them, especially Andre! Andre and I became great friends, and this friendship will definitely last forever. Miss having him around. Now, I have a reason to go to Portugal one day eh?

With Andre & Hugo. Missing you both!

With Andre & Hugo. Missing you both!

Leave a Reply

