The Big Leap.


After a short interesting drama that ended in January, I awaited for the next big wave to hit; for a unique life event in the month of February. Well, there was most definitely a huge wave. Here I am, unexpectedly standing at one of the cross roads of my life, having to decide which road I should take, for a better promising future. I couldn’t see what’s ahead of both roads. They are foggy and vague. One, is the continuation of the road that I am already familiar with. Another, is a brand new road that I’ve yet to explore. Now that I’m standing at the intersection, I asked myself “Which road should I take? What could possibly be at the other end of the road?” Unplanned and unprepared, I was trying to make a major and crucial decision.

Truth is, no one will ever know for sure what’s at the end of the road, only to wonder and predict what might or might not be there. One thing you’ll know for sure is how you are gonna go through the path that you’ve chosen. When you come across obstacles along the journey, toughen up and go through with it with a positive mind, knowing that we should accept the challenge that comes right at you with much courage and make it through. To strive, and to perform our very best in life. And so, I have decided to take the road not taken.

It was by far, the toughest decision I have to make in my life. Throughout these few tough, messed up days, I’ve discovered something new about myself. Uncertainty, is what I dislike. It took me a few months to discover this part of myself, after a series of unexpected events that groomed me into a better and mature person. Being able to be certain about things in life, keeps me cheerful, focused, happy and calm. Knowing what I want; what is going on; what I’m gonna do; where things are heading in certain situation.

On top of that, I also learned that you will never fully know a person, even though you’ve spent so much time knowing each other, years even, as you could never find out for sure, what they are thinking, what they actually feel, and they will reveal their true selves to you when you are in need of them. You’d be surprised with who that will actually stay, ready to lend you an ear and a shoulder to lean on.

In rocky times like this, I’m so very blessed to have my family, friends, gym buddies and colleagues, who are ever ready to slice out a small portion of their quality time, listening to my worries and gave me fruitful advises and opinions. I have no regrets living, knowing that I have these caring and great people with me in life, regardless of the strength of the bond I have with them and despite that I am not always such a perfect person. I am truly grateful and I thank you all.

The Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that, the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Leave a Reply

